Copa America 2015 - 7 Amazing Facts on the 99th Year Anniversary 
Sonny Black | 05/11/15 | 11:01 AM EDT 0 Comments
A+ | a-

The Hottest International Tournament Is Coming...

By Danny Monzon

One of the most anticipated events in international soccer is right around the corner. Formerly known as the South American Football Championship, the 2015 Copa America will take place in Chile from June 14th to July 4th after 4 years since the Argentineans hosted the 2011 Cup.  The current name has been used since 1975. It is also the 99th year anniversary, making it the oldest international continental men's football competition. 

Originally planned to be played in Brazil, but due to the World Cup, the FIFA Confederations Cup played in previous years in Brazil, plus the 2016 Summer Olympics being held there as well, Brazil and Chile's Football Federations will be swapping their turn to host Copa America, leaving Brazil as the official host country for the 2019 classic.

This year, the twelve teams participating for a chance to win this coveted title are as follows: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Peru, Chile, Uruguay, Ecuador, Paraguay, Venezuela, including the two invited teams from Jamaica and Mexico. There are two stages: the group stage, in which each team faces the 3 other teams with their respective group, and the knockout stage, where the top two teams in each group advance, plus the two best third place teams also advance. A point system is in place where a win earns 3 points, a draw 1 point and no points for a loss.

I have put together an infographic which illustrates 7 amazing historic facts on Copa America's 99th Year Anniversary.

In this Article: SOCCER | COPA AMERICA

Follow Player Press:

Your Reaction?
Related News

comments powered by Disqus
Top Stories
Player Press is a sports media company dedicated to delivering high-quality sports and lifestyle content across the web. publishes daily sports news, articles, photos, videos, social media, rumors and commentary.

Based in New York City.